[Interview] Meet the guy who is always Around

With his monthly releases, Around is always around to bring you some comfort! Today, let’s meet this independent 29 years-old singer-songwriter from Korea who sings through his thoughts and emotions.

Born Young Jae Cho, Around started music in middle school after a friend suggested he rap for the school’s festival. He then made his first steps in music, performing a song from the famous hip-hop group Epik High in front of his schoolmates who seemed to enjoy the show according to Around’s words. « I enjoyed rapping in front of people, I loved the sound of people screaming. The wave of the voices hit my chest, and I loved it. It’s another reason that I kept doing music till now. » With this boost of ego, Around felt that maybe he was talented in rap which encouraged him to perform for the next school’s festivals.

When he moved to Seoul, Around pursued his passion, rapped at school which brought him some friends. Surely due to his talent, he slowly started to become famous in his class, and then even in other classes, as students who heard about him came to listen to his rap. The young student and artist then realized, that thanks to music, he could gather people around him. « Students in other classes came to listen to my rap. I think that was the point for me to do music because I could make people around me. » And these people he gathers around influence his music which also explains why his artist name is Around. Last but not least, the artist made another reference to his artist name when I asked him to define his style and universe. « I’m quite weird, because I sometimes rap, play the guitar, sometimes I do hip-hop, folk, ballad, sing or play the piano. Maybe I’m following my artist name, Around. I’m kinda mixed and maybe messy, or just maybe all around. »

Music has always been a means for Around to express himself, and it became more and more important as he grew up and turned out to be more of an introvert. But as Around says himself, he still is a « chatty man », he has a lot to say! So all the things he thinks about, but doesn’t say out loud, he can express it through music to free himself. Some thoughts turned into lyrics, a pinch of melody, a sweet voice, and the magic is done! « And I feel like, Oh my, now I can be alive. » And this « chatty » trait explains why Around is so proactive! Releasing at least a song every month, Around is always around to bring you good music. He also explains that working all by himself, from lyrics, melody, to recording, mixing, and mastering makes it easier for him to be so active. Such a hard-working man.

And a sensitive man! Around has a strong emotional connection with music, he depicts it as a home where he can always come back to. He says that it can sometimes be a playground too, where he can have fun and be creative. But the idea of music as home seems to better match the way of feeling of Around. The artist needs his home or he will feel uneasy and panic. « I’ll don’t know where to go, what to do, how to live. » And that’s something that he wants to provide to his listeners too, a shelter, a cozy home. « I want to be an emotional home where people can rest, play, cry, laugh. »

His two last albums clearly show Arounds’ style and intention. His delightful songs are just reflections of his thoughts and life. A funny thing I learned, is that while producing both albums, Around didn’t really know what direction they would take, as he made it following the current of his emotions. When I asked him why the mood of Around 25, his first album, was kinda sad, he said that he didn’t mean to do a sad album! But he could clearly explain why his album took this direction, recalling from his past:

« I think I didn’t mean to make a sad album, but I think I was sad at that period of time. I really wanted to be a full-time musician, and I just blamed myself for not being one.
After resigning from the recording studio, I needed a sad time to cry all out, so that I could move on to the next step. I needed to know what I really love, which is not recording other artists’ music, but doing my own music. »

These days Around is still making a living by recording music and songs for advertisements while making his own music on the side. He is undoubtfully working hard to realize his dream which is living from his own music. And for that, he needs the help of his listeners! It’s time to show him some love and appreciation by following him on social media and by streaming his music! Find all you need below if you are interested.

But if you want to know a little bit more about Around before leaving this page, let’s continue!

When I asked Around about his second album, Around Acoustic, which I found more joyful and delightful, he told me that maybe the album reflected his way of thinking at the time. Instead of worrying and crying, it was time for Around to enjoy « making lyrics and singing with pure love. » And I feel like he quite stayed in this mood until today. When I listen to his music, there is always a sense of coziness and peacefulness. I can relate to the idea of « a house where you can come back » because when you’re going through a bad day, you can come back to Around’s music.

Around confessed that he is planning to work on a next album! He doesn’t know yet if it will be a happy album and hesitate between folk and hip-hop, but I sure know, it will be a wonderful album! We just need to wait and see where his influences lead him!

If you would like to discover Around music, you can dive into his two last albums, check his covers on Facebook, discover his last single Erase You a ballad/hip-hop track, or patiently wait for his coming album. A lot of options for you here, right? Don’t miss this opportunity!

Check some of his albums and singles by clicking on them ⤵

Laisser un commentaire